This will not be my first time giving a birthday letter in this form i.e a post to someone. In truth, this will be the second time. The first one worked. I hope this one does 🙂

“Whatever you are physically…male or female, strong or weak, ill or healthy–all those things matter less than what your heart contains. If you have the soul of a warrior, you are a warrior. All those other things, they are the glass that contains the lamp, but you are the light inside.” – James Carstairs

Today is the mark of your 17th birthday. Not too special compared to your first or to your coming 18th or maybe your 100th but I think and I believe that if there is a day that should remind you why you ought to live the way you want to live, why you have every right to do what you want to do, to chase the dreams of your hearts and the longings of your soul, it should be today – your birthday.

For that, Happy Birthday.

Jem said that if you have a soul a warrior then you are a warrior. And I think that’s true for you. Of all people I knew, I think that applies to you the most. People see this our of reach girl with everything given to her but I think they fail to see this heart which is capable of sacrificing, of being selfless, and of being independent. You remind me of Isabelle- yes, THE Isabelle Lightwood- sharp, responsible when needed to be, stubborn yet someone who could sway at the mention of family.

There is a blend of toughness and gentleness in you that I have only seen in you.

And I think, that’s what makes you a beautiful person – your capability to stand on your own while looking after others. I know it may not be all the time that you find yourself as a saint, all selfless and good, but like the soot which you may find in a kerosene lamp when the light inside had been burning constantly and for too long, I don’t think that the actions you may found wrong diminishes your importance as the light to your family – to us.

Happy Birthday!

