When once asked,
“What’s with you two?”
I heard a deafening silence
as if the world wants an answer too

“Nothing.” You said plainly
“Nothing.” I agreed so
I guess it wouldn’t hurt them
if they didn’t really know

You and I are you and I
but you and I are we
you and I are a certainty
as much as a probability

We have no strings attached
Yet we are pulled together
In the heat of our kisses
And the nights thereafter

We are that indigo in the rainbow
which lies between violet and blue
There and not there at the same time
Undefinable from someone’s view

You and I are a mixture
of both cowardice and bravery
Brave enough to bet
Yet not enough to stay and play

For you and I dance in a fine line
which you and I dare not stray from
Lest we lose everything to friendship
or find our way to love

“Nothing.” You said plainly
“Nothing.” I agreed so
I guess it wouldn’t hurt us
what we don’t even know

Even if I won’t know is this love is a truth or a lie
Even if it’s only “nothing” you could offer this time
But if this “nothing” could keep us from goodbye
The let “nothing” be the “always” we’ve been afraid to try

 

 

 

 

 

