A spoken poetry


Don’t fall in love with me
because I seem hard to get
I am not a trophy
not that ribbon at the end of a race
not a maze
not a puzzle for you to solve

Don’t fall in love with me
because I seem to be unlike other girls
I am nothing special
nothing grand
I am not a temple to worship
I’m neither silver nor gold

Don’t fall in love with me
because you’re perplexed by my complexity
I am not an object in a museum
which is scrutinized for its worth
not an abstract painting
not a mystery in this world

Don’t fall in love with me
because you see me as a dream come true
I am more than an embodiment of wishes
more than desires
more than the longings of a soul
more than the oxygen for someone else’s lungs

I am my own person
I am not clay to be shaped in your hands
Not a home for you to build
So only say you’re in love with me
when you see me as I am
and not what you wanted me to be

